Day 363 – the day before…..

Thursday 29th December 2011.

Today I cleaned up the desk at work, emptied my in-box, and then headed home to do my packing. However I am easily distracted, and between finishing the post for Turtlewings, catching up with a quick G&T and a chat with Jules, and preparing dinner from leftovers, the evening suddenly disappeared.
Heading off for bed around 11, I realized Hubbie had already taken care of himself and the kids (yippee!) which just left me with a collection of my skiwear he had found in various parts of the house (in varying sizes!), left as usual on my side of the bed. This is a ploy on his part to try to get me to pack before bed. It never works, I slide it off to the floor, and snuggle down for a good nights sleep. I hear groans of annoyance when he finally comes down, but I feign fast asleep. Tomorrow is another day……

 

btw in case you’re interested, here are the leftover recipes which I cooked up tonight….

 

 

Broccoli and Stilton soup

 

Ingredients

  • 350g/12oz broccoli, florets and stalks cut into small pieces
  • 400ml/14fl oz vegetable stock (I used turkey stock as I had cooked up the turkey bones after the weekend)
  • 25g/1oz butter
  • 4 spring onions, finely sliced (I used one large normal onion)
  • 50g/1¾oz Stilton, crumbled, or to taste (I doubled this to 100g)
  • 100ml/3½fl oz double cream
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • pinch freshly grated nutmeg
For the croûtons

 

Directions

  1. Heat a frying pan until hot then add the butter. When it starts to foam, add the onions and cook for one minute.
  2. Add the chopped broccoli florets and toss for one minute, then add the stock and heat under the florets are cooked.
  3. Transfer the cooked broccoli and stock to a food processor. Add the fried spring onions, Stilton and cream and blend until smooth.
  4. Transfer the blended mixture to a pan and bring gently to a simmer.
  5. Meanwhile, for the croûtons, toast the French bread under a grill until golden-brown on each side.
  6. Top the grilled bread with the slices of Stilton and return to the grill until golden-brown and bubbling.
  7. Season the soup with salt, freshly ground black pepper and a pinch of nutmeg.
  8. Divide the soup equally among four warm bowls and top each with a Stilton croûton. Serve.

 

 

 

via BBC – Food – Recipes : Broccoli and Stilton soup with Stilton croûtons.

 

 

 

Turkey curry

 

Ingredients

 

Directions

  1. Heat the oil and butter in a large non-stick casserole pot.
  2. Add the onions and cook for 2-3 minutes, then add the garlic, ginger, chilli, cardamom, cumin, turmeric, garam masala and ground coriander. Cook over a medium heat until the onion is soft, being careful not to burn the spices.
  3. Add the potatoes and butternut squash/pumpkin and cook until the potato begins to stick to the bottom of the pan slightly.
  4. Add the stock and bring to the boil. Season, to taste, with salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  5. Reduce the heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes, until the potatoes and butternut squash are tender.
  6. Stir in the yoghurt and cream, then add the lemon juice.
  7. Add the cooked turkey, fold in and simmer to heat through.
  8. Sprinkle with coriander leaves and serve immediately.

 

via BBC – Food – Recipes : Turkey curry.

 

 

 

and my very own, dreamt up as I opened the fridge…..

 

Cranberry and Meringue Mess

 

This was a huge hit and so easy! I just used the leftover fresh Cranberry sauce that Jules had made last weekend, meringues crushed, ice cream, and the left over clotted cream/brandy cream.
Delicious!

Now you can understand why I wasn’t in the mood to pack, just to curl up and fall asleep!
Sweet Dreams!

 

 

 

Leave a comment