Day 74 – Roasted Squash with Agave Syrup Dip

You know me, and my lunchtime healthy obsession with Chicken Quinoa salad with Mixed Greens.  Well I may have found the next big thing, in addition to all the soups I cart off to work in my thermos flask.   This is a great recipe I found last week from Cocoa and Spice, which I seriously thought I’d have to wait until next autumn to test.  But my luck was in on the organic market on Sunday, and I found the squash.

It’s a great dip for lunchtime at work, I served it with sesame crackers today, and it really suited our first real day of Spring, as the colour of the dip is just truly full of sun beams.  We hit 18 degs today – wow!  Enjoy and thanks Sarah!

….

Roasted Squash with Agave Syrup Dip

….

 

In

Ingredients

1 Squash (butternut), sliced into cubes

1/3 cup (80 ml) ground pumpkin seeds (in a food blender or coffee grinder)

2 tablespoons Manuka Honey (I used agave syrup, hence the name change!))

3 – 4 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 tsp ground turmeric

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp ground coriander

1 whole garlic clove (I used 2)

pepper

1/2 squeezed lemon juice

….

Directions

Pre-heat the oven 325°F/160°C (I took the oven to 180)

1. In a baking tray place the squash and drizzle 1 – 2 tablespoons of the Olive Oil and sprinkle a little turmeric and toss around, add the garlic clove. Pop in the oven and bake for up to 20 minutes or until soft (I found my oven needed nearly 40mins at 180 to get the squash, squashable).

2. Peel the garlic when ready and put in a bowl along with the rest of the ingredients including the roasted squash. Mash and mix well. Or whizz for a few seconds in a food blender.

3. Put the dip in a small bowl and serve with bread, crudities or as a side dish.

…..

via Roasted Squash with Manuka Honey Dip | Cocoa and Spice.

Leave a Reply

