Day 68 – Winter Warming Soup

For those with a nervous disposition, don’t read further……

The description of my night from hell, is not pretty.  I sneezed, dripped, throbbed and ached throughout the night.  Ranging from hot sweats to cold shivers.  My throat closed up, my lips turned to parchment, and my head felt like it was about to explode.  I felt invaded by an alien, slowly trying to strangle me from inside out.

This morning was no better, so I hid under the duvet all morning popping pills (paracetamol I promise!), and surfaced when hunger got the better of me at lunchtime.  Unfortunately no little servants or caring Hubbie to take care of me, so I spluttered, toilet roll never more than 1 metre away, to cook the chicken soup of yesterday’s blog and a Swede based soup made up of root vegetables left in the fridge.  At 4pm, I am beginning to feel a little more human.  A hot steaming bowl of Winter Warming Soup as described below, and a big mug of Ginger and Cinnamon Tea (also on yesterday’s blog) has helped.  I am eating raw garlic, drinking fennel and camomile tea by the bucketload, and trying to sweat it out.  I have to say the tea has a definite raw kick on your throat, and I’m sure it’s a kill or cure recipe.  The chicken soup is on hold for tonight.

Keep you posted! Back to the Duvet…….

…..

Winter Warming, Root Vegetable Soup

….

….

Ingredients

  • 1 swede
  • 1 or 2 parsnips
  • 2 carrots

(or a mix of other winter vegetables)

  • vegetable stock cube
  • approximately 1 litre of water
  • thyme and sage (approx 1 tsp of each)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • olive oil

….

Directions

Heat oil and cook chopped onions for a couple of minutes without browning.  Add the cubed vegetables, stir for 2 minutes, and then add the stock cube, water and seasoning.

Cook for 20 minutes, and then liquidise.

Serve with crusty bread, grated cheese, parsley and roasted seeds on top for a satisfying winter meal

adapted from Veg Box Recipes • Swede (Rutabaga).

Comments
2 Responses to “Day 68 – Winter Warming Soup”
  1. hopeeternal says:

    I do hope that you are feeling better soon, Lizzie – there’s something very therapeutic about soup! If your veggie box contains a suitable mix, I hope you enjoy my soup too. Look forward to hearing how you adapted the recipe!
    I like your idea of adding related articles as reminders for future meals and may well borrow it!
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings through my Cookbook’

  2. Thanks for your comments, I am finally feeling better and ready to face the world again! Soup was a big help in the recovery process, and I’m keeping fingers crossed for trying yours out this weekend if the veg box delivers the right goodies! Lizzi

Leave a Reply

