Diet Day 9 – Hot and Sour Chicken Soup, and No I am NOT!

No I am NOT in a good mood today.  After a nice long lie-in, a bit of kitchen preparation for the week (soup making including the stock), I was looking forward to an hour to myself early afternoon.  And then the dreaded catastrophy happened.  The Internet went down along with our mail server.  Not good.

And oh how you realise just how dependant you are on that wonderful invention.  First, no Internet radio in my kitchen (so no radio 4), then no Google to look up the recipes.  No Email to catch up with the ‘thank you’s’ I still owed from Christmas.  No Internet access to update my website for the french house and start marketing.  No Facebook to post some news and photo’s I still had outstanding.  No PayPal to make a payment I owe.  And worst of all, a whole hour for me to focus on my Blog, but No WordPress!

I have to say I sulked.  BIG TIME.  Even David Bowie on my ipod was doing nothing for me.  Actually the only thing that brightened up my day was a visit from Jules and her family where we enjoyed homebaked cookies and herbal tea, and just chatted.  It took my mind off all the histronics over the electronics, and focused me back on what really mattered.  My friends, and my family.  How decadent to have an afternoon of tea and biscuits, to take time to just relax with friends, find out more about their lives, and their experiences.  So I have to admit, being a true Drama Queen at times, that in the end my afternoon was probably better for it, as I knew I had time and space to just relax, as so many of my ‘tasks’ had disappeared into electronic oblivion.  I just hope that some of them will stay there!

So for dinner tonight I needed a bit of spice, and for sure this recipe delivered the punch.  Great for a Sunday night when you need a kick to get you ready for that Monday morning (which in our house is an early one due to our daughters’ swim training).

Hot and Sour Chicken Soup

Ingredients
  • 1 litre chicken or vegetable stock
  • 2-3 red chillies
  • 1 stick lemongrass
  • 1 clove garlic, finely sliced
  • 2 cm piece of ginger, cut into fine strips
  • 4 spring onions, finely sliced
  • 20g fresh coriander, chopped
  • 2 tsp agave syrup (or honey)
  • 1 lime
  • 3 tbsp fish sauce
  • 150g mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 chicken breasts

Directions
  • Heat the stock with the chilli, lemongrass, garlic, ginger, sugar, lime juice and fish sauce, and bring to the boil
  • Add the sliced mushrooms, and cook for 3 mins
  • Flatten the chicken breasts with a rolling pin (easiest if you place inside a freezer bag first), and then season the chicken and dry fry for 3-4 minutes until cooked through
  • Slice the chicken thinly, place in the 4 serving bowls, with the spring onions and the coriander
  • Pour the soup over the chicken, sprinkle with coriander and serve

Recipe from

Soup for All Occasions New Covent Garden Soup Company: Amazon.co.uk: New Covent Garden Soup Company: Books.

And today to make up for all the electronics I’m missing, and to help you rest and relax, or to let the world know how you feel, I found the following on Etsy…….cool eh?


Facebook Icon Pillow by Craftsquatch

Bad Day Fingerless Gloves in blue by MouthyMitts on Etsy.

 

Comments
One Response to “Diet Day 9 – Hot and Sour Chicken Soup, and No I am NOT!”
  1. julie anne says:

    It was a lovely afternoon. Well, besides Eliot terrorizing every nook and cranny in your house. By the way if that happens again you are always welcome to pop over to use our wireless, then you could have it all. Technology, Tea, homemade biscuits and friends!

Leave a Reply

