Diet Day 5 – Back to Work and Thank God for Cod!

Next hurdle, back to work.  Lurking on the corner of my desk this morning were three M&S mini bite boxes, all open and all waiting to be finished.

Not fair!  My colleagues were in meetings all day, so Diana our graphic designer was my only ally.  She managed one late this afternoon, and I managed to off load one onto a friend of mine who came in for a chat (which was naughty of me as she’s on a diet too).  For the rest, they sat there gently reminding me of the pleasures of last year and the pain of this one.  I did my best.  I munched nuts and dried apricots.  I drank herbal tea and water.  And I focused my eyes, and all my attention, on the 196 emails sitting in my in-box.

By 5.30 I was finished, slunk out of the office and drove home sitting next to a tub of mentos mints (where did they come from?).  Home was easier to navigate, and although Inigo offered me some tuna on crackers which I resisted, I focused on cooking dinner in the kitchen for all of us.  Inigo even wanted to go ‘detox’ today, and loved the baked cod with stir fried brown rice and vegetables.  We were so hungry (excluding Thila of course), that dinner was eaten before I even got chance to take a photo.  Never mind, I attached a photo of the offending items in the office.

In case you are not familiar with them, and if you’re not on a diet, feel free to pop by my office!!

 

 

Mini bites « Rocky Roadsters » de Marks & Spencer | Flickr – Photo Sharing!.

Baked cod

Ingredients

  • 4 pieces of cod
  • olive oil
  • lemon
  • black pepper
  • parsley

Directions

Heat oven to 175 deg. Place cod in a baking dish, and drizzle oil and lemon over them, sprinkle pepper on top

Bake in the oven for 15 mins

 

Wok Fried Rice with Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of brown rice, cooked (as on the packet)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 onion
  • 1/2  a chilli
  • soya sauce
  • ground coriander
  • fresh coriander
  • a little water
  • broccoli and carrots
  • cabbage

Directions

Cook the rice and leave on the side.  Chop the onions, garlic and the chilli, and stir fry in the wok in a small dash of olive oil

Add a splash of soya sauce and 1 tsp ground coriander.  In the meantime, steam the vegetables (you can use any fresh vegetables that you have in the fridge).

Stir fry the rice for 5 mins, adding a little water or more soya sauce if necessary, and then add the vegetables and fresh coriander chopped for the last 5 minutes.

Place the cod on top of the stir fry, add a couple of slices of lemon, and serve.  Great for spooning out to everyone at the table.

 

And thank Cod to Etsy for the photo…..  great greeting cards from Cape Cod!

The Cape Cod 10×8 print by CapeCard on Etsy.

Comments
2 Responses to “Diet Day 5 – Back to Work and Thank God for Cod!”
  1. Sjef says:

    No worries about the mentos mints in your car anymore, I had a weak moment in my detox today when picking the kids up from school… so they’re gone 🙂
    Hubbie

    Note: there were only three left anyway..

Leave a Reply

