Day 290 – Happy Mondays no. 5

♥ keep learning new things

Learning affects our well-being in lots of positive ways. It exposes us to new ideas and helps us stay curious and engaged. It also gives us a sense of accomplishment and helps boost our self-confidence and resilience.

There are many ways to learn new things – not just through formal qualifications. We can share a skill with friends, join a club, learn to sing, play a new sport and so much more.

via Action for Happiness.

Last week I was trying to learn to meditate, amid the frustrations of being sick and off work.  It certainly helped me to look at ways to focus on slowing down, and sitting infront of my window (instead of enjoying the atmosphere of Paris, sigh!) certainly focused me on the art of relaxing.  The main benefit was my new found ability to switch off and knit, and to get totally absorbed in the Eden Project book (fascinating) by Tim Smit (unbelievable guy in reaching out to do what he truly believed was possible). I also really tried to switch off when I joined the kids for a swim on Saturday morning.  We all ploughed (well actually they did, and I sort of bobbed along with quite a few ‘tea breaks’) up and down the pool, and I focused on the act of swimming and breathing, which was quite calming actually.

How can I beat that this week, now I am back at work and expected to learn something new?  I’m not sure that there is even something that I desperately want to learn…….. need to, or would sort of like to.  Doesn’t my meditation techniques learnt last week count as double?

I promise to give it some thought though over the next 10 rows of knitting, signing off now to relax………..

but first going to add this to my iPad, it looks like the perfect solution!!

…….

…..

an app for your iPhone or iPad where you learn something new every day!!

just click on  App Store – Learn Something Every Day.

….

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

