Red Cabbage and Spiced Apples, the smell of Christmas

IMG_8516

Just a quick blog from France on Christmas Eve. I’m all set up having downloaded my favourite Christmas tunes, filled the fridge with goodies, and got my Mum chopping the veg for lunch tomorrow. Kids are glued to a DVD upstairs (after doing their one arts and craft thing of the day -> making a cardboard Christmas house for Joseph the cat), Sjef has sorted out how to reconnect Sky (so we can all start arguing over what to watch tonight), and Dad is having a snooze on the bed (admittedly this is one day too early in my book). So I started cooking…………

Of course while singing along to Barry Manilow’s Christmas selection (a particular weakness of mine at Christmas that is guarenteed to have me in tears by the third song), and after cooking the cranberries (thanks to Jules at Thanksgiving who inspired me to DIY), I tackled the veg for Boxing Day. Well I thought it made sense to get ahead for a change….
We’re having Roast Pork, and so it seemed perfect to do Red Cabbage with Spices and Apples as the side dish, and I have to say as I sit in the kitchen typing, the smell coming from the oven, justifies preparing it this early, to let it sit and stew, after a long slow cook.

Here’s my Mum busy at work….

And here’s the recipe;

1kg red cabbage

450g onions

450g cooking apples

1 clove of garlic

spice mix; 1/4 grated nutmeg, 1/4 level tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground cloves,

3 tbsp brown sugae

3 tbsp red wine vinegar

15g butter

salt and pepper

Chop the cabbage, the onions and the apples.  Layer a casserole dish with 1/4 of the cabbage, a 1/4 of rhe onion and 1/4 of the apple.  Add a little salt and pepper, and then sprinkle 1/4 of the spices and the sugar on top.  Continue with these layers until you have used all the ingredients.  Then pour the vinegar over the top, dot with the butter, cover with a lid and pop in an over at 150 deg for 2 to 2.5 hours.  Great with Pork , Venison or Goose, and perfect to let sit in the fridge for a couple of days.  Enjoy!

Comments
One Response to “Red Cabbage and Spiced Apples, the smell of Christmas”
  1. Henny says:

    Hi Liz,

    I always use those pre-cooked packages, because I don’t like the taste of freshly cooked red cabbage, but with your recipe I might give it a try!

    Best wishes,

    Henny

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 383 other followers

